Google chrome

I haven’t written anything up recently so I thought I would start off with the fact that I am now using Google chrome as my default browser. I’m using windows, so I can’t say whether its good or not on anything but windows, but on Windows it is astonishing. Now it doesn’t have anything new with add-ons or plugins, I would still say firefox is the best at that.

But Google does best what I want most from my browser – its FAST!

And I don’t just mean its slightly quicker than others, they seem to pale in comparison to chrome.

It has a nice speed-dial type page when opening a new page, like safari or opera, where it shows the most viewed pages and recently closed.

But there are 2 main touches that I really like, one of which makes me think it should be the default browser on computers in libraries etc.

That feature is called incognito mode, this basically opens a new window, where the only difference is that it doesn’t save the history of the pages, and also doesn’t save any cookies. Plus I also like the fact that if a tab crashes in either of these modes you don’t have to close the whole browser down, but instead chrome has its own task manager that shows the memory each tab is taking up etc. But its mostly helpful because you can end the process i.e the tab.

Plus if you want more, there’s a hyperlink at the bottom called ‘more stats for nerds’. This simply opens a new tab with the address about:memory. This shows all the memory being used and in detail by all the tabs and plugins.  Plus if you have more than one browser opened at once, it tells you how much memory each is taking up, so that you can clearly compare them.

The only problem I would have with chrome is that if you have a lot of tabs open when starting it up for the first time, it can take a while, but still only as long as firefox, otherwise it starts up a lot faster than any browser I’ve used before.

I think if you have a netbook like mine, the nc10 or something else, chrome is ideal if it has windows on it.

~ by lavamunky on 07/10/2009.

Leave a comment